Who We Are What We're Doing Newsroom Careers Doing Business with Us Search



Publication 100 - The United States Postal Service - An American History 1775 - 2006 > The history of the United States Postal Service > United States Postal Service

## **United States Postal Service**

The Post Office Department was transformed into the United States Postal Service, an independent establishment of the executive branch of the Government of the United States. The mission of the Postal Service remained the same, as stated in Title 39 of the U.S. Code:

The Postal Service shall have as its basic function the obligation to provide postal services to bind the Nation together through the personal, educational, literary, and business correspondence of the people. It shall provide prompt, reliable, and efficient services to patrons in all areas and shall render postal services to all communities.

The new Postal Service officially began operations on July 1, 1971, when the Postmaster General ceased to be a member of the President's Cabinet. The Postal Service received:

Operational authority vested in a Board of Governors and Postal Service executive management, rather than in Congress.

Authority to issue public bonds to finance postal buildings and mechanization.

Direct collective bargaining between representatives of management and the unions.

A new rate-setting procedure, built around an independent Postal Rate Commission.

The Postal Reorganization Act changed the United States postal system in many ways.

LEGAL Privacy Policy > Terms of Use > FOIA > No FEAR Act EEO Data > ON ABOUT.USPS.COM Newsroom > USPS Service Alerts > Forms & Publications > Site Index >

ON USPS.COM USPS.com Home > Buy Stamps & Shop > Print a Label with Postage >

Customer Service > Delivering Solutions to the Last Mile > OTHER USPS SITES

Business Customer Gateway > Postal Inspectors > Inspector General > Postal Explorer >

Copyright© 2016 USPS. All Rights Reserved.

11/7/2016 1:33 PM 1 of 1



## Leadership

**Board of Governors** 

Postmaster General & Executive Leadership Team

Postal Leadership

Postal Service Profile

**Financials** 

Government Relations

Judicial Officer

Legal

Our History

Postal Facts

## About the Board of Governors

The Board of Governors of the U.S. Postal Service is comparable to a board of directors of a private corporation. The Board includes nine governors who are appointed by the president with the advice and consent of the Senate.

The nine governors select the postmaster general, who becomes a member of the Board, and those 10 select the deputy postmaster general, who also serves on the Board. The postmaster general serves at the pleasure of the governors for an indefinite term. The deputy postmaster general serves at the pleasure of the governors and the postmaster general.

In 1970, when the Board was established by the Postal Reorganization Act, the governors of the Postal Service were appointed for terms of nine years. The first nine appointments were for staggered terms of one to nine years. Subsequent appointments were made for the full nine years. On December 20, 2006, President George W. Bush signed the Postal Accountability and Enhancement Act, P.L. 109-435, which changed the terms of subsequently appointed governors from nine to seven years. The Act also added professional qualifications for the governors. The governors are chosen to represent the public interest generally and cannot be representatives of special interests. Not more than five of the nine may belong to the same political party. They shall be chosen solely on the basis of their experience in the field of public service, law or accounting or on their demonstrated ability in managing organizations or corporations (in either the public or private sector) of substantial size, except that at least four of the governors shall be chosen solely on the basis of their demonstrated ability in managing organizations or corporations (in either the public or private sector) that employ at least 50,000 employees.

Appointments are made when vacancies occur or for the remainder of unexpired terms. Each governor's term expires on December 8 of a given year. Governors may continue to serve following expiration of their term or until a successor is appointed but not for more than one year. No person may serve more than two terms as a governor.

The Board directs the exercise of the powers of the Postal Service, directs and controls its expenditures, reviews its practices, conducts long-range planning and sets policies on all postal matters. The Board takes up matters such as service standards and capital investments. It also approves officer compensation.

To organize and conduct their meetings, a chairman and a vice chairman are elected from among the members of the Board. The governors elect the chairman and the vice chairman. James H. Bilbray is the chairman, and Postmaster General Megan J. Brennan is the vice chairman.

The governors employ a full-time corporate secretary who serves as the primary staff assistant to the Board. The secretary is generally responsible for coordinating the resources of the Postal Service so that Members of the Board of Governors >

1 of 2 11/7/2016 1:53 PM

the Board fulfills its statutory duties in the most efficient and informed manner possible.  $\underline{\text{Julie S. Moore}}$  is the secretary of the Board.

The Board of Governors meets on a regular basis. Meeting locations are generally in Washington, D.C., but may be scheduled in some other city where the members can see firsthand a Postal Service or large mailer's operation.

All meetings are open to the public unless the Board specifically votes to close all or part of a meeting in line with exemptions permitted by the Government in the Sunshine Act [5 U.S.C. 552b(b)].

Each governor receives \$300 per day for not more than 42 days of meetings each year and travel expenses, in addition to an annual salary of \$30,000. Five vacancies exist on the Board.

December 2013

Copyright© 2016 USPS. All Rights Reserved.

2 of 2